Mailbox Monday & First Treasure

Mailbox Monday is on tour! This month it’s being hosted by Bermudaonion. It was created by The Printed Page

If you saw my birthday post you know last week was amazing for me, as far as books go. I bought those lovely leather bound editions of Grimm’s fairy tales, Lewis Carroll stories, and the Complete Sherlock Holmes. I also got a couple of things in the mail! Finally!

At a café table in Lahore, a bearded Pakistani man converses with an uneasy American stranger. As dusk deepens to night, he begins the tale that has brought them to this fateful meeting . . .

Changez is living an immigrant’s dream of America. At the top of his class at Princeton, he is snapped up by the elite “valuation” firm of Underwood Samson. He thrives on the energy of New York, and his infatuation with elegant, beautiful Erica promises entry into Manhattan society at the same exalted level once occupied by his own family back in Lahore.

But in the wake of September 11, Changez finds his position in his adopted city suddenly overturned, and his budding relationship with Erica eclipsed by the reawakened ghosts of her past. And Changez’s own identity is in seismic shift as well, unearthing allegiances more fundamental than money, power, and maybe even love. –Goodreads synopsis

 The Reluctant Fundamentalist is part of my Fall/Winter Challenge. I got it from Paperbackswap.com. I just love that place.

When I read the Harry Potter series, I listened to the audio books, read by the wonderful Jim Dale. I loved them so much! Well, that was a year ago and even though I still have my Jim Dale audio versions, I decided I would like print versions. I already had Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone because I picked it up at the airport bookstore in Rome to read on the 10-hour flight back to the states. Now, I’m collecting the rest in print. I’m buying them in paperback because I’m not really picky about that kind of think. In fact, I like paperbacks because they take up less room on the shelf (except Les Misérables, which is the size of three paperbacks).

There’s one more thing I got in the mail that’s pretty exciting. An extra copy of Mockingjay that’s I’m giving away! It’s international and it ends September 18th, so if you want it you can fill out the form here.

Now on to the BBAW festivities!

Monday—First Treasure

We invite you to share with us about a great new book blog you’ve discovered since BBAW last year!  If you are new to BBAW or book blogging, share with us the very first book blog you discovered.  Tell us why this blog rocks your socks off and why you keep going back for more. –from the BBAW website

Well, since I’m new to blogging I’m going to to share the first book blog I discovered. If I’m being honest, that’s impossible because I discovered a wonderful book blog when I was about 16. I read it religiously for a while but I got busy and stopped. I went back and tried to find it again, but had no luck. I can’t even remember the name. That’s means, I’m going to go with the first blog I discovered this year (and ultimately gave me the idea to start my own). Jason at Brain Candy Book Reviews writes really great reviews. What got me to read in the first place was the fact that he listens to audio books. Since I listen to them as well, I like to read other opinions about certain narrators and things like that. I recommend stopping by his blog. I’m sure you’ll enjoy it.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I adore PaperbackSwap as well 🙂 Lots of goodies to find there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,296 hits
