Happy Birthday to me!

I turned 23 today! I definitely don’t feel 23. I can remember thinking that 23-year-olds were adults with boring jobs and stuff. Now that I’m 23 and work in an office 30 hours a week, I don’t feel that way about. I certainly don’t feel like an adult yet. I mean, sure I get benefits cut out of my check and I’ll claim myself on my taxes for this year, but I also live with my parents and they pay for my phone and most of my food. Perhaps next year, when I’m living on my own and paying for grad school on my own, I’ll feel more like an adult.

The real reason I wanted to mention my birthday is because I bought myself a few gifts at B&N. I’ve been staring at the leatherbound classics for quite some time now. I finally went to get one and I was informed that they’re about to be on sale, buy 2 get 1 free. They said if there were three I wanted, they would go ahead and give me the deal. So, I got three B&N leatherbound classics today! I’m so excited!

I’ve been wanting the Grimm’s fairy tales for a really long time. I’ve never read them and I know I would really love them. Plus, the Grimm’s stories have some interesting twists that the Disney-like interpretations don’t. I can’t wait to start reading these!

I read Alice in Wonderland earlier this summer. I really liked it and wanted to find a nice copy that included Through the Looking Glass. This one includes other stories by Carroll. It will be really great when I have kids too (again, in the very distant future)!

I decided on the Sherlock Holmes collection because I think I’ll really like it. I’m also planning to read it for the Fall/Winter Challenge I’m doing so that worked out nicely. What a great birthday!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Maligayang kaarawan (happy b'day in Tagalog) young lady!! Awesome presents. –Have a fun and fabulous day!! =]

    Reply
  2. Happy Birthday to you! Enjoy every minute!!I like those books too. I actually bought the Jane Austin one!!!

    Reply
  3. Happy birthday! You got some great books!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,284 hits
