Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week book bloggers post a new Top Ten list.

Top Ten Heroines:

1. Katsa from Graceling– Katsa is my complete opposite but I still love her. She’s so strong and independent. She has a determination I can only wish for.
2. Elizabeth Bennett from Pride and Prejudice – I imagine this one will get a lot of play. She is a pretty famous heroine. Elizabeth is why I fell in love with this book. She’s so witty and she isn’t afraid to tell the truth. She has guts in a time when guts are usually considered unattractive.
3. Lisbeth from the Millennium series – Lisbeth is so bad ass. I wish I could be as tough as her. Don’t get me wrong, she’s got her problems but she tries to deal with those throughout the series. She makes me want to kick ass and take names… or something like that.
4. Katniss from The Hunger Games trilogy – Katniss is also nearly the opposite of me. She can hunt and fight, things that will always be over my head. She can survive in a wilderness where people are out to kill her! What cooler than that?
5. Gemma from the Gemma Doyle trilogy – Gemma is the only one of their little group who keeps her head on straight most of the time. I’m not saying she’s perfect, but she understands the things going on around her. I also find her pretty funny. I tend to get a laugh out of her misfortunes or her witty commentary on her own life.
6. Grace from Shiver – I’m only counting Shiver because I haven’t read Linger  yet. Grace is so mature. She’s much more mature than I was at that age. The best word I can think to describe her is level-headed. She just seems so collected most of the time.
7. Marianne Engel from The Gargoyle – I’m not sure Marianne actually counts as a heroine, but I’m getting to the point of grasping at straws. Marianne has unbelievable faith. She has faith in her story and faith in her God.
8. Jessica Darling from the Jessica Darling series – Jessica is hilarious. Some of her commentary sounds like it came straight out of my own head. She reminds of so much of myself… except, you know, smarter.
9. Sookie Stackhouse from the Southern Vampire Mysteries – I’m not sure how many people would agree with me about this. The thing is, Sookie is the only reason I’ve actually read all of the books. She’s just so awesome. She’s funny, quirky, and she’ll do what she has to do to stay alive. I wish the Sookie in True Blood was more like her.
10. Elenor Dashwood from Sense and Sensibility – This is yet another example of me tendency to like sensible characters. Elenor understands the world that she lives in. She’s the thread that keeps the Dashwood women held together. Even in the midst of her own romantic tragedy, she puts up with the drama that seems to constantly surround her sister. It’s something I wouldn’t be able to do.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Elinor Dashwood made my list as well, and I considered Elizabeth Bennett but wanted to pick from a variety of genres 🙂

    Reply
  2. I decided that Gemma Doyle irritated me too much to put her on my list, though I love the books. I have three Austen characters and considered one more.-Annehttp://headfullofbooks.blogspot.com/Are you working on your MLIS or are you working toward an endorsement in Library?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,316 hits
